

Issued: 13 August 2015

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE AND INDUSTRY

Inquiry into agricultural innovation

Chair: Mr Rowan Ramsey MP Deputy Chair: Ms Clare O'Neil MP

Telephone: 02 6277 4500

Facsimile: 02 6277 4424

Email: agind.reps@aph.gov.au/agind

The sharp edge: Committee to examine technological advancement in agriculture

The House of Representatives Agriculture and Industry Committee will conduct an inquiry into agricultural innovation. Committee Chair, Rowan Ramsey MP, welcomed the referral of this inquiry from the Minister for Agriculture, the Hon Barnaby Joyce MP.

"Australian farmers have always been at the forefront of developing and adopting new agricultural technologies. In fact our early adoption and development of technology is the edge that has kept Australian agriculture competitive world-wide in a high cost environment. Recent developments in fields ranging from plant gene technology to telecommunications and remote monitoring present exciting opportunities for the agriculture industry to continue this trend of innovation," Mr Ramsey said.

"The Committee will investigate how farmers are adopting new technologies to reap advances in productivity, sustainability and efficiency. This inquiry will also consider how technological advances can help address challenges such as the ever growing threat of chemical resistance," he said.

The terms of reference provide for the Committee to inquire into and report on the following matters:

- improvements in the efficiency of agricultural practices due to new technology, and the scope for further improvements;
- emerging technology relevant to the agricultural sector, in areas including but not limited to telecommunications, remote monitoring and drones, plant genomics, and agricultural chemicals; and
- barriers to the adoption of emerging technology.

The Committee will accept submissions addressing one or more of the terms of reference until **25 September 2015**. Further details about how to make a submission can be obtained from the Committee's website at: www.aph.gov.au/aginnovation.

For media comment please contact the Committee Chair, Mr Rowan Ramsey, on (02) 6277 4967 (Parliament House) and (08) 8645 4255.

For further information please contact the secretariat on (02) 6277 4500, email agind.reps@aph.gov.au or visit the Committee's webpage at www.aph.gov.au/agind