

SELECT COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN INTERFERENCE THROUGH SOCIAL MEDIA

Foreign Interference through Social Media

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 30 July 2021

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House , CANBERRA ACT and via videoconference

Time	Witness
10.00 am	Facebook (Submission 27) Mr Nathaniel Gleicher, Global Head of Security Policy Mr Josh Machin, Head of Public Policy, Australia
10.45 am	Google Australia (Submission 23) Mr Richard Salgado, Director, Law Enforcement and Information Security Ms Lucinda Longcroft, Director, Government Affairs and Public Policy, Australia and New Zealand
11.30 am	Morning Tea
11.45 am	Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet Mr John Reid, First Assistant Secretary, Government Division Mr Lachlan Colquohoun, First Assistant Secretary, National Security Division Mr Peter Rush, Assistant Secretary, Parliamentary and Government
12.15 pm	Australian Electoral Commission (Submission 14) Mr Tom Rogers, Electoral Commissioner Mr Jeff Pope APM, Deputy Electoral Commissioner Department of Finance Mr Scott Dilley, First Assistant Secretary, Governance, Governance and Resource Management Mr Nathan Williamson, Deputy Secretary, Governance and Resource Management
1.00 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications Mr Mike Makin, Assistant Secretary Ms Pauline Sullivan, First Assistant Secretary Ms Bridget Gannon, First Assistant Secretary, Digital Platforms and Online Safety Branch Attorney-General's Department (Submission 13) Ms Autumn Field, Assistant Secretary, Transparency and Criminal Law Branch
	Ms Julia Galluccio, Assistant Secretary, Information Law Branch
2.15 pm	Break

SELECT COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN INTERFERENCE THROUGH SOCIAL MEDIA Foreign Interference through Social Media

3.15 pm	Department of Home Affairs (Submission 16) Dr Richard Johnson, First Assistant Secretary Social Cohesion Mr Hamish Hansford, First Assistant Secretary, Cyber, Digital and Technology Policy Mr Patrick Hallinan, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Counter Foreign Interference Coordination Centre
4.00 pm	Twitter (Submission 20) Ms Kathleen Reen, Director of Public Policy, Australia and New Zealand Ms Kara Hinesley, Director of Public Policy, Australia and New Zealand
4.45 pm	Adjournment