

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Sex Discrimination Amendment (Removing Discrimination Against Students) Bill 2018

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 7 February 2019

Macquarie Room, Parliament Building 6 Macquarie St, Sydney

Time	Witness
8.50 am	Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 171) Mr Edward Santow, Australian Human Rights Commissioner Mr Graeme Edgerton, Deputy General Counsel
9.20 am	Australian Family Association (via teleconference) (Submission 22) Mrs Terri Kelleher, National Vice President
	Australian Christian Lobby (ACL) (Submission 56) Mr Frederick Christopher Brohier, Representative Mr John Steenhof, Representative
	The Australian Family Coalition (via teleconference) (Submission 232) Mr Damian Wyld, Director
10.00 am	Morning tea
10.10 am	Christian Schools Australia / Adventist Schools Australia (<i>Submission 167</i>) Mr Mark Spencer, Executive Officer Policy, Governance and Staff Relations
	Australian Association of Christian Schools (Submission 168) Mr Erik Hofsink, Public Advocate
10.50 am	Public Affairs Commission, Anglican Church (Submission 16) Dr Carolyn Tan, Chairperson
	Anglican Church, Diocese of Sydney (Submission 46) The Most Rev'd Dr Glenn Davies, Archbishop of Sydney The Right Rev'd Dr Michael Stead, Bishop of South Sydney
11.30 am	Presbyterian Church of Australia (<i>Submission 185</i>) Rev Bruce Meller, Clerk of Assembly Mrs Sheryl Sarkoezy, Member of Church and Nation Committee Rev Chris Duke, Member of Church and Nation Committee
	Seventh-day Adventist Church in Australia (Submission 191) Pastor Michael Worker, General Secretary
12.10 pm	Institute for Civil Society (Submission 702) Professor Mark Sneddon, Executive Director Dr Simon Kennedy, Research Analyst

12.40 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	Dr Tiffany Jones, ARC Research Fellow at the Macquarie University Department of Educational Studies & Adjunct Associate Professor at La Trobe University (Submission 233)
	Independent Education Union Mr Chris Watt, Federal Secretary
2.10 pm	National LGBTI Health Alliance (Submission 323) Ms Nicola Bath, Executive Director Mr Daniel Comensoli, Policy and Research Officer
	Intersex Human Rights Australia (Submission 689) Mr Morgan Carpenter, Co-Executive Director Mr Peter Low (via teleconference), Board member
	Australian Transgender Support Association Queensland (via teleconference) Ms Kristine Johnson, Secretary
2.50 pm	Equality Australia (Submission 282) Ms Anna Brown, CEO Lee Carnie, Director of Legal Advocacy
	Equality Tasmania (via teleconference) (Submission 911) Mr Rodney Croome, Campaign Coordinator Ms Olivia Hogarth, Teacher from Catholic school system
	Public Interest Advocacy Centre (Submission 173) Mr Jonathon Hunyor, Chief Executive Officer Mr Alastair Lawrie, Senior Policy Officer
3.30 pm	Afternoon tea
3.40 pm	Law Council of Australia (Submission 415) Ms Kate Eastman, Chair, Equal Opportunity Committee Ms Leonie Campbell, Deputy Director, Policy
4.10 pm	Attorney-General's Department (Submission 228) Ms Sarah Chidgey, Deputy Secretary, Integrity and International Group Ms Lucinda Atkinson, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Integrity an Security Division Ms Kristin Crawford, Director, Human Rights Unit
4.40 pm	Mr Sam Watson (via teleconference) (Submission 676)
5.00 pm	Adjournment