

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Social Services Legislation Amendment (Cashless Debit Card) Bill 2017

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 2 November 2017

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Dr Janet Hunt, Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research, Australian National University (Submission 47)
	Catholic Social Services Australia (Submission 9) Ms Liz de Chastel, Director Social Policy Fr Frank Brennan sj AO, Chief Executive Officer Ms Ingrid Hatfield, Research and Special Projects Officer Dr Jen Cleary, Chief Executive Officer, Centacare Catholic Family Services SA (via teleconference)
9.15 am	Law Council of Australia (via teleconference) (Submission 37) Ms Fiona McLeod SC, President Ms Kristen Zornada, Policy Lawyer
	Australian Human Rights Commission (via teleconference) (Submission 30) Mr Nick Devereaux, Manager, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Mr Darren Dick, Director, Policy and Programs Mr Graeme Edgerton, Deputy Director, Legal Section
10.00 am	Morning tea
10.15 am	National Congress of Australia's First Peoples (Submission 42) Mr Rod Little, Co-Chair
	Kimberley Land Council Mr Tyronne Garstone, Deputy Chief Executive Officer Ms Merle Carter, Deputy Chair
11.00 am	Mayor Allan Suter, Mayor, District Council of Ceduna (via videoconference)
11.30 am	Australian Council of Social Service (via teleconference) (Submission 39) Dr Cassandra Goldie, Chief Executive Officer Mr Peter Davidson, Senior Advisor
	Dr Elise Klein, Lecturer Development Studies, University of Melbourne (via teleconference) (Submission 48)
12.30 pm	Lunch

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Social Services Legislation Amendment (Cashless Debit Card) Bill 2017

1.15 pm	Ms Leanne Donaldson MP, Member for Bundaberg (via teleconference)
	Gidarjil Development Corporation (via teleconference) Ms Jennifer Mason Ms Melinda Holden
	Bundaberg Awareness Group (via teleconference) Mr Daniel Stafford, Organiser Miss Sharon Feerick
1.45 pm	Wyndham Advisory Group (via teleconference) Ms Jean O'Reeri
	Kununurra Waringarri Aboriginal Corporation Mr Desmond Hill, Chief Executive Officer
2.15 pm	Minderoo Foundation (Submission 5) Mr Matthew O'Sullivan, Chief Operating Officer, GenerationOne Mr Bruce Mansfield, Special Advisor, GenerationOne
3.00 pm	Afternoon tea
3.15 pm	Ms Kathryn Wilkes
	Ms Dianne Smith
	Ms Jennifer Cameron
	Ms Amanda Smith
	Ms Faye Whiffin, President, Burrum District Community Centre (via teleconference)
4.00 pm	Department of Social Services (Submission 8) Ms Barbara Bennett, Deputy Secretary, Families and Communities Ms Roslyn Baxter, Group Manager, Families Group Mr Tim Reddel, Group Manager, Policy Office Mr Tristan Reed, Branch Manager, Welfare Quarantining and Gambling Mr Murray Kimber, Branch Manager, Policy Capability and Evaluation
5.15 pm	Adjournment