

SELECT COMMITTEE INTO FUNDING FOR RESEARCH INTO CANCERS WITH LOW SURVIVAL RATES

Funding for Research into Cancers with Low Survival Rates

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 18 May 2017

John Shine Room Level 6, Kinghorn Cancer Centre, 370 Victoria Street, Darlinghurst, Sydney

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Panel: Ms Linda Ferguson (Submission 8)
	Mrs Suzanne Turpie (Submission 18)
	Mrs Margaret Shonk (Submission 19)
	Mr Alex Cullen (Submission 31)
	Mrs Sandra Woods (Submission 7)
10.00 am	Via teleconference: Cancer Voices Australia/SA (Submission 61) Ms Chris Christensen, Chair, Cancer Voices SA Ms Julie Marker
10.45 am	Brain Cancer Discovery Collaborative (Submission 60) Professor Terry Johns, Director, Brain Cancer Discovery Collaborative Associate Professor Geraldine O'Neill, Group Leader Children's Cancer Research Unit
11.30 am	Morning tea
11.40 am	Cancer Council Australia & the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia (Submissi on 137) Professor Phyllis Butow, President, Clinical Oncology Society of Australia (COSA) Professor Karen Canfell, Director of Research, Cancer Council NSW Mr Todd Harper, Chief Executive Officer, Cancer Council Victoria
12.25 pm	Rare Cancers Australia (Submission 50) Mr Richard Vines, Chief Executive Officer
1.10 pm	Lunch

2.15 pm	Panel: Australasian Gastro-Intestinal Trials Group (Submission 85) Mr Russell Conley, Chief Executive Officer Mr Dan Kent Ms Julie Marker, Via teleconference Mr James Armstrong, Via teleconference Ms Jan Mumford Cooperative Trials Group for Neuro-Oncology (Submission 138) Professor Mark Rosenthal, Chair Dr Eng-Siew Koh, Deputy Chair Professor John Simes
3.15 pm	Afternoon tea
3.30 pm	Panel: UNSW Sydney & SPHERE (Submission 48) Professor Michael Barton, Principal, Cancer Research Theme, Faculty of Medicine Professor Guy Eslick, Professor of Cancer Epidemiology and Medical Statistics, The University of Sydney (Submission 51) Professor Manuel B. Graeber, Barnet-Cropper Chair of Brain Tumour Research, Brain and Mind Centre, University of Sydney (Submission 199) Associate Professor Michael Buckland, Head, Neuropathology Department RPA Hospital (Submission 201)
4.30 pm	Adjournment