

PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON HUMAN RIGHTS

Freedom of speech in Australia

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 1 February 2017

Jubilee Room Parliament of New South Wales, 6 Macquarie Street, Sydney

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Discrimination Law Experts Group (Submission 118) Dr Karen O'Connell, Member Professor Simon Rice, Member Dr Dominique Allen, Member
	Ms Katherine Eastman SC (Submission 157)
	Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law at UNSW (Submission 107) Associate Professor Gabrielle Appleby Associate Lecturer Gemma McKinnon
9.45 am	Muslim Legal Network (NSW) (Submission 45) Mr Zaahir Edries, President Note: also appearing on behalf of the Grand Mufti of Australia Office (Submission 140)
	Lebanese Muslim Association (Submission 141) Mr Dandan Samier, President Mr Mostafa Rachwani, Project Manager and Media Officer
10.30 am	Break
10.40 am	Dr Sev Ozdowski AM (Submission 101)
11.10 am	Amnesty International Australia (Submission 151) Ms Stephanie Cousins, Advocacy and External Affairs Manager Ms Roxane Moore, Indigenous Rights Campaigner
	Australian Lawyers Alliance (Submission 35) Ms Anna Talbot, Legal and Policy Adviser Mr Greg Barns, Spokesperson on human rights (via teleconference)
	Public Interest Advocacy Centre (Submission 120) Mr Jonathon Hunyor, Chief Executive Officer
	Refugee Council of Australia (Submission 8) Mr Tim O'Connor, Acting Chief Executive Officer Ms Sahar Okhovat, Policy Officer Mr Burhan Zangana, Member of Refugee Communities Advocacy Network

PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON HUMAN RIGHTS Freedom of speech in Australia

12.00 pm	Federation of Indian Associations of NSW (Submission 112) Dr Yadu Singh, President
12.30 pm	The Hon Acting Justice Ronald Sackville AO, Supreme Court of NSW
1.00 pm	Lunch break
1.30 pm	Kingsford Legal Centre (Submission 187) Associate Professor Anna Cody, Director Ms Maria Nawaz, Law Reform Solicitor Note: also appearing on behalf of the National Association of Community Legal Centres (Submission 139) Legal Aid NSW (Submission 73) Mr Anthony Levin, Senior Solicitor, Human Rights Group, Combined Civil Law Specialist Team
	Redfern Legal Centre (Submission 87) Dr Linda Tucker, Solicitor (and Chairperson of Community Legal Centres NSW)
2.00 pm	National Congress of Australia's First Peoples (Submission 188) Dr Jackie Huggins, Co-Chair Mr Rod Little, Co-Chair Ms Sophie Sauerman, Policy Officer
2.30 pm	Mr Jonathan Holmes (Submission 164)
2.50 pm	Executive Council of Australian Jewry (Submission 11) Mr Peter Wertheim, Executive Director
3.35 pm	Chinese Australian Forum (Submission 71) Mr Kenrick Cheah, President Mr Chesney O'Donnell, Secretary Mr Tony Pang, Vice President Mr Patrick Voon, Immediate Past President
4.05 pm	Professor George Williams AO (Submission 6)
	Professor Anne Twomey (Submission 10)
4.35 pm	The Australian Taxpayers' Alliance (Submission 110) Mr Timothy Andrews, Executive Director Mr Satyajeet Marar, Research Associate
5.05 pm	Mr Bill Leak, Daily Editorial Cartoonist, The Australian (Submission 169)
5.30 pm	Adjournment