Odgers' Australian Senate Practice Thirteenth Edition

Chapter 16 - Committees

Right click over the text to activate a context menu for Odgers. (Note: on iPad Safari this function is activated by a finger press and holding down for several seconds.)

Types of committees

Leaving aside committees of the whole,[4] committees are of two main types: standing committees, which remain in existence and inquire into matters within their areas of responsibility referred to them by the Senate; and select committees, which are appointed to inquire into particular matters and which cease to exist when they have finally reported on those matters.

Standing committees may be subclassified according to their functions. Joint committees, committees of both Houses, are best treated as a separate category. This produces the following classification, which is employed in this chapter:

  1. (a) standing domestic committees;
  2. (b) standing legislative scrutiny committees;
  3. (c) legislative and general purpose standing committees;
  4. (d) estimates committees;
  5. (e) select committees; and
  6. (f) joint committees.

4. See Chapter 14, Committee of the whole proceedings.