Display standard website

Odgers' Australian Senate Practice Thirteenth Edition

Chapter 6 - Senators

Right click over the text to activate a context menu for Odgers. (Note: on iPad Safari this function is activated by a finger press and holding down for several seconds.)

Designation of senators

The choice by the framers of the name of the upper house in the Commonwealth Parliament had the effect of conferring on its members the title of senator, a title used in the Constitution, and a title of their counterparts in the United States and some other countries.

The title “honourable” is granted to the following senators:

  • the President of the Senate
  • members of the Executive Council (current and former federal ministers and parliamentary secretaries)
  • former members of state ministries, former Presidents of State Legislative Councils and former Speakers of State lower houses.