Chapter 5 - Officers of the Senate: Parliamentary administration

Other Departments

There are two other parliamentary departments:

  • Department of the House of Representatives, which provides procedural, information and advisory services for members of the House of Representatives

  • Department of Parliamentary Services, a joint department which provides services used in common by members of both Houses:

    • library, reference and research services to senators and members

    • transcripts of proceedings of both Houses and their committees, information systems support to senators, members and the parliamentary departments, and audio and video monitoring of the proceedings of both Houses and their committees

    • building management, maintenance and catering functions associated with Parliament House.

An independent position of Parliamentary Librarian is established within the Department of Parliamentary Services.

The Department of the House of Representatives is administered by the Speaker of that House. The joint department is administered by the President and the Speaker jointly.

For the amalgamation of three joint departments into one in 2003, see the 39th and 40th reports of the Appropriations and Staffing Committee, PP 125/2003, 125/2004, and SD, 23/6/2003, pp 12164-8; 18/8/2003, pp 13780-802; Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee estimates hearing transcript, 24/5/2004, pp 2-6, 20-1.

For control of Parliament House and the parliamentary precincts, see Chapter 2, Parliamentary Privilege, under Parliamentary precincts.

Previous Page | Contents | Next Page

Back to top