School education: a quick guide to key internet links

Updated 15 July 2014

PDF version [306KB]

Marilyn Harrington
Social Policy


This Quick Guide provides links to:

Policy and administrative framework

–      the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet has responsibility for Indigenous affairs, including school education programs for Indigenous students. However, information about specific Indigenous school programs is on the DoE’s website
–      the Department of Industry has major responsibility for vocational education and training in schools (VETiS).

Information about schools

  • School term dates
  • The My School website, managed by ACARA, provides information about all schools in Australia, and includes key statistical data, financial information and school-wide National Assessment Program (literacy and numeracy) results.
  • M Harrington, Schools by Commonwealth Electoral Division, 2012, Parliamentary Library, Canberra, 2013. The information for individual schools includes school name, location and school type. For non-government schools, campus information, affiliation and Commonwealth funding arrangements under the socioeconomic status (SES) system are also provided. The website includes a list of school enrolments by electorate.

School funding

Australian Government funding for schools prior to 2014


Student achievement statistics

Other international statistics

Indigenous education

Australian organisations

The following are some educational organisations that represent the interests of school education stakeholders and/or undertake research relating to school education. The Australasian Education Directory provides a comprehensive listing of educational organisations.

International organisations and overseas education departments

International organisations

Overseas education departments

–      Department of Education—includes links to state education departments.
–      Education Commission of the States provides access to information about federal and state education policies, legislation, research and statistics.

State and territory government websites

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

New South Wales (NSW)

Northern Territory (NT)


South Australia (SA)



Western Australia (WA)



For copyright reasons some linked items are only available to members of Parliament. 

© Commonwealth of Australia

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print