ALP Leadership

Parliament house flag post

ALP Leadership

Posted 23/02/2012 by Janet Wilson

On 23 February 2012 Prime Minister Gillard announced that there would be a special meeting of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party on Monday 27 February at 10am, to conduct a ballot to decide the leadership of the Party.

The following table provides details of Federal Parliamentary Labor Party leadership changes and challenges since 1982:

DateChange or challengeVotes
16 July

Hawke challenged Hayden unsuccessfullyHayden 42; Hawke 37
3 February

Hawke became leader without a ballot-
3 June

Keating challenged Hawke unsuccessfullyHawke 66; Keating 44
19 December

Keating challenged Hawke and wonKeating 56; Hawke 51
19 March

Beazley became leader unopposed following Keating’s resignation-
11 November

Crean became leader unopposed following Beazley’s resignation-
16 June

Beazley challenged Crean unsuccessfullyCrean 58; Beazley 34
2 December

Latham defeated Beazley in ballot following Crean’s resignationLatham 47; Beazley 45
28 January

Beazley became leader unopposed following Latham’s resignation-
4 December

Rudd challenged Beazley and wonRudd 49; Beazley 39
24 June

Gillard challenged Rudd, but the anticipated ballot did not occur-

Thank you for your comment. If it does not require moderation, it will appear shortly.
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print


Flagpost is a blog on current issues of interest to members of the Australian Parliament

Parliamentary Library Logo showing Information Analysis & Advice




immigration refugees elections taxation asylum Parliament criminal law election results Australian Bureau of Statistics social security disability citizenship Indigenous Australians political parties United Kingdom UK Parliament Census statistics banking early childhood education Middle East Australian foreign policy OECD Australian Electoral Commission voting mental health Employment military history by-election election timetable China; Economic policy; Southeast Asia; Africa housing Speaker; House of Representatives; Parliament Productivity Defence income management asylum seekers High Court; Indigenous; Indigenous Australians; Native Title Senate ACT Indigenous education Norfolk Island External Territories leadership aid Papua New Guinea emissions reduction fund; climate change child care funding Electoral reform politics refugees immigration asylum Canada procurement Australian Public Service firearms Indigenous health constitution High Court e-voting internet voting nsw state elections 44th Parliament women 2015 International Women's Day public policy ABS Population Age Pension Death penalty capital punishment execution Bali nine Bali bombings Trade skilled migration Private health insurance Medicare Financial sector EU national security fuel China soft power education violence against women domestic violence Fiji India Disability Support Pension disability employment welfare reform Tasmania Antarctica China Diplomacy Australian Sports Anti-Doping Agency World Anti-Doping Agency Sport ASADA Federal Court WADA ADRV by-elections state and territories terrorism terrorist groups Bills corruption anti-corruption integrity fraud bribery transparency corporate ownership whistleblower G20 economic reform science innovation research and development transport standards Afghanistan Australian Defence Force NATO United States social media Members of Parliament Scottish referendum Middle East; national security; terrorism higher education Higher Education Loan Program HECS welfare policy pensions social services welfare ASIO Law Enforcement Australian Federal Police Australian Secret Intelligence Service intelligence community Criminal Code Amendment (Misrepresentation of Age to a Minor) Bill 2013 sexual abuse online grooming sexual assault of minors labour force workers

Show all
Show less
Back to top