Appendix 5

Fifth Edition

Print this appendix (PDF 19KB)

Appendix 5 Clerks of the House of Representatives



Period of office

  JENKINS, George Henry, CMG (Acting*) (later Sir George) 1.5.1901 to 6.7.1901
  DUFFY, Charles Gavan, CMG 8.7.1901 to 31.1.1917
  GALE, Walter Augustus, CMG 1.2.1917 to 27.7.1927
  McGREGOR, John Robert 1.9.1927 to 28.9.1927
  PARKES, Ernest William, CMG 27.10.1927 to 22.3.1937
  GREEN, Frank Clifton, MC (later CBE) 23.3.1937 to 25.6.1955
  TREGEAR, Albert Allan (CBE after retirement) 27.6.1955 to 31.12.1958
  TURNER, Alan George, CBE (Sir Alan, after retirement) 1.1.1959 to 10.12.1971
  PARKES, Norman James, CBE 11.12.1971 to 31.12.1976
  PETTIFER, John Athol, CBE 1.1.1977 to 15.7.1982
  BLAKE, Douglas Maurice, VRD (AM after retirement) 16.7.1982 to 30.7.1985
  BROWNING, Alan Robert 31.7.1985 to 22.3.1991
  BARLIN, Lyndal McAlpin, AM 23.3.1991 to 26.7.1997
  HARRIS, Ian Charles AO 27.7.1997 to 4.12.2009
  WRIGHT, Bernard Clive 5.12.2009

* Mr Jenkins was never formally appointed Clerk of the House, was paid no salary during his term as Acting Clerk and resigned to resume his office of Clerk of the Parliaments of Victoria.

Updates in red

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top