2014 Parliamentary Library Summer Scholarships awarded

Two postgraduate students will spend six weeks working in the Parliamentary Library after winning summer scholarships for 2014.

Parliamentary Librarian Dr Dianne Heriot awarded scholarships for the second year of the Library’s Summer Research Scholarship program to Ms Louise St Guillaume and Ms Marija Taflaga.

Ms St Guillaume is a PhD candidate in the School of Arts and Sciences at the University of Notre Dame, and Ms Taflaga is undertaking a PhD in the School of Politics and International Relations at the Australian National University.

Dr Heriot said she was thrilled to announce the two successful candidates.

“We are pleased to be able to support these two scholars at this early stage of their careers, and look forward to their contribution to the work of the Parliament,” she said.

The Summer Research Scholarship program is open to Honours and postgraduate students with a research interest in public policy, lawmaking, governance, democracy, politics or parliament.

Ms St Guillaume will assess the accessibility of the new National Disability Insurance Scheme for Newstart Allowance recipients with a partial capacity to work, and the scope of the scheme to address their needs.

Ms Taflaga will examine Liberal and Labor Party approaches to planning for government.

Summer Research Scholarships were awarded for the first time in 2013 as part of a reinvigorated Australian Parliamentary Fellowship scheme, which has been managed by the Library on behalf of the Parliament since 1970.

The two scholars will be based in the Parliamentary Library for six weeks. They will enjoy privileged access to the Library’s collections, and will be mentored by senior researchers.

They will have the opportunity to produce a research paper on their chosen topic which will be considered for publication by the Library.

Further information on the Summer Research Scholarship program, including the papers written by last year’s scholars, is available on the Parliamentary Library website.
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print

More information

Visit the Parliamentary Library website

Back to top