Melbourne wins The Speaker’s University Challenge

Melbourne University Debating Society has won The Speaker’s University Challenge, beating rivals from the Australian National University in a close decision.

Judges Jacqui Yates and Bernard Wright (Clerk of the House) awarded the inaugural event to the Melbourne team of James Gray, Rishada Cassim and Tim Blair over ANU’s Richard Keys, Jessy Wu and Thomas Goldie.

Held at the Parliament House 25th anniversary Open Day, the teams debated whether the House is truly representative, with Melbourne’s negative argument winning out.

Melbourne University was awarded the magnificent Speaker’s Trophy, commissioned from the ANU School of Art glass workshop.
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print

More information


Back to top