Annual Report 2018-19

Introduction

ĩ.

1

4

1.1 The Standing Committee on Appropriations, Staffing and Security is appointed under Senate standing order 19. The Committee inquires into:

- proposals for the annual estimates and the additional estimates for the Senate;
- proposals to vary the staff structure of the Senate, and staffing and recruitment policies; and
- other matters as are referred by the Senate.

1.2 Following the Senate's adoption in March 2015 of the recommendations of the Procedure Committee in its *First Report of 2015*, the name of the Committee was changed from the Appropriations and Staffing Committee to the Appropriations, Staffing and Security Committee.

1.3 Standing order 19(3)(d) was also amended, giving the Committee the capacity to consider the administration, operation and funding of security measures affecting the Senate and advise the President and the Senate as appropriate.¹

1.4 Under a resolution of the Senate agreed to in 1987 the Committee also examines proposed changes in the structure and responsibilities of the parliamentary departments and, following the adoption by the Senate on 27 November 2012 of the recommendation in the Committee's 54th Report, the Committee may advise the President and the Senate on the administration and funding of information and communications technology services for the Parliament.

1.5 Under standing order 19(3)(c) the Committee is required to make an annual report to the Senate on the operations of the Senate's appropriations and staffing and related matters.

1.6 The Committee is chaired by the President of the Senate and includes the Deputy President and 8 other senators. The Senate Leaders of the Government and the Opposition are *ex officio* members.²

¹ Journals of the Senate, No 89, 25 March 2015, pp 2412-13

² Senate Standing Order 19(4).

Committee membership

1.7 During the 2018-19 year, the following senators were Committee members during the 45^{th} Parliament:

- The President of the Senate, Senator the Hon. Scott Ryan (Chair)
- The Deputy President of the Senate, Senator Sue Lines
- The Leader of the Government in the Senate (Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann)
- The Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator the Hon. Penny Wong)
- Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham (discharged 10 September 2018)
- Senator the Hon. Jacinta Collins (discharged 15 February 2019)
- Senator David Fawcett (discharged 10 September 2018)
- Senator the Hon. Mitch Fifield (appointed on 10 September 2018)
- Senator Jane Hume (appointed 13 February 2019)
- Senator the Hon James McGrath (appointed 10 September 2018)
- Senator Deborah O'Neill (appointed 2 April 2019)
- Senator Dean Smith (discharged 13 February 2019)
- **Committee activities**
- 1.8 During the reporting period, the Committee tabled two reports:
- the Committee's Annual Report for 2017-18 (tabled on 5 December 2018) and;
- the Committee's 61st report entitled *Estimates for the Department of the* Senate 2019-20 (tabled on 3 April 2019).

1.9 The Committee met on one occasion during the year. At its meeting on 4 December 2018, the Committee:

- received a briefing from the Department of Parliamentary Services on the new keyless swipe card Parliament House office entry system;
- approved the draft of the Committee's 2018 Annual Report;
- considered correspondence from the Privileges Committee concerning that Committee's consideration of options to increase awareness of the new media rules;

6

I.

ł

1

1

- noted the Department's financial statements for the 4th quarter of the 2017-18 financial year and the 1st quarter of the 2018-19 financial year;
- noted the Annual Report of the Department's Audit Committee; and
- noted correspondence concerning recent decisions made by the Presiding Officers to rename the Senate and House alcove areas, and altering catering arrangements in the Members and Guests Dining Room.

Senator the Hon Scott Ryan

Chair

ł,

ł

1

ł

March 2020